NEODIAG-80 Board

Pinup
Twister Sound

Fast diagnosis board

For SYSTEM 80, 80A & 80B.

Overview

NEODIAG-80 is an electronic assembly for quick diagnosis and easy identification of CPU board SYSTEM-80, 80Aand 80B malfunctions. Its use is particularly recommended in case the CPU board does not start at all.

Photo of the prototype:
NeoDiag80

The objective is to detect failures from defective RIOT circuits (U4, U5 and U6) or RAM 5101 (Z5). These circuits are originally soldered, it is indeed very difficult to know which to replace without having a specific test equipment.

NeoDIAG-80 performs the internal test of these components and legibly indicates those that are defective, thanks to a 7-segment display.

Installation

The board connect to the TC1 connector on the CPU board as shown in the picture below:

NeoDiag80

NeodDIAG-80 uses a solidarity link, limiting the risk of manipulation. Much more reliable and durable than a cable, it is provided by two removable strips, easily replaceable in case of wear or breakage.

NeoDiag80 NeoDiag80

Usage

The implementation of the NeoDIAG-80 is very simple, there is no complicated manipulation to make use of it. Just choose the operating mode before connecting the NeoDIAG80 and possibly connect the grip to disable ROMs (only if they are soldered).

Two DIPs allow you to select one of four modes:

  • The main mode "Tst", which is that of the diagnosis.
  • The three "Run" modes, which reproduce the normal operation of a SYSTEM-80, 80A or 80B.

Diagnostic mode can detect faults in circuits U4, U5, U6 (RIOT) or Z5 (RAM 5101) without the need to disassemble them. It also makes it possible to quickly check the clock, reset or IRQ (interrupts) faults. The operation of the SLAM TILT and the TEST/PLAY button are also controlled, finally, the outputs of the connector A1J4 (piloting the driver board) are viewable.

So that NeoDIAG-80 remains simple to use, no test of the contact's matrix (with the exception of checking the TEST/PLAY button), configuration DIPs or displays are not integrated in this mode.

The other three modes allow the CPU board to work with a "standard" program corresponding to a "basic" pinball one of three systems (80, 80A and 80B). It is then possible to activate the original test mode, via the TEST/REPLAY button in order to control the rest of the board (subject to connecting external elements, such as, matrix of contacts, displays, etc ...).

Documentation

This consists of a "user manual" describing the detailed operation and the procedures for implementing the product.

Download the documentation:
Documentation

Distribution

This achievement is available in our shop.

Shop

NEODIAG-80 is by its operational mode, very similar to the "historic" quickscan-80 (sometimes also called QS80) of Great Plain Electronics (GPE). However, the resemblance stops there. NEODIAG-80 uses its own software developed by FLIPPROJETS, which is very different from the one used by the QS-80. In addition, the new hardware design of the NEODIAG-80 makes it a more advanced successor than a simple quick-scan clone. To avoid any ambiguity, we have also named our product NEODIAG-80, which is far removed from the QUICKSCAN name. It is quite normal to find strong similarities between these two products, since their purpose is identical: the troubleshooting of Gottlieb SYSTEM-80 CPU boards. The quickscan is no longer produced since 2004, it was time 15 years later, to release a replacement card that can make the same service.

Last update of this page: September 15th, 2019

French Tech

DDS

Copyright © 2019 Flipprojets - François & Thierry DAVROUX

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies used primarily to measure the traffic on our pages, or to keep your session information.

These datas are used for technical purposes only and are not intended to serve you with advertisements, nor for targeted canvassing, or SPAM. They will not be exchanged with third-party services and will not be used outside this site.

FLIPPROJETS agrees to respect your privacy, click OK if you understand and accept these conditions, otherwise do not continue browsing and leave this site. OK

Carte NEODIAG-80

Pinup
Twister Sound

Carte de diagnostic rapide

Pour SYSTEM 80, 80A & 80B.

Présentation

NEODIAG-80 est un montage électronique permettant de réaliser un diagnostic rapide et d’identifier facilement les pannes affectants les cartes CPU SYSTEM-80, 80A et 80B. Son utilisation est particulièrement recommandée dans le cas où la carte CPU ne démarre pas du tout.

Photo du prototype:
NeoDiag80

L’objectif est de détecter les pannes provenant des circuits RIOT défectueux (U4, U5 et U6) ou de la RAM 5101 (Z5). Ces circuits étant à l’origine soudés, il est en effet très difficile de savoir lequel remplacer sans disposer d’un équipement de test spécifique.

NEODIAG-80 réalise le test interne de ces composants et indique de manière lisible ceux qui sont défectueux, grâce à un afficheur 7-segments.

Installation

La carte se connecte directement sur le connecteur TC1 de la carte CPU, comme indiqué sur cette photo :

NeoDiag80

NeoDIAG-80 utilise une liaison solidaire, limitant les risques de manipulation. Bien plus fiable et plus durable qu’un câble, elle est assurée par deux barrettes amovibles, facilement remplaçables en cas d’usure ou de rupture.

NeoDiag80 NeoDiag80

Utilisation

La mise en oeuvre du NeoDIAG-80 est très simple, il n'y a aucune manipulation compliquée à faire pour s'en servir. Il suffit juste de choisir le mode de fonctionnement avant de brancher le NeoDIAG80 et de relier éventuellement le grip pour désactiver les ROM (uniquement si celles-ci sont soudées).

Deux DIP permettent de sélectionner l'un des quatre modes:

  • Le mode principal "Tst", qui est celui du diagnostic.
  • Les trois modes "Run", qui reproduisent le fonctionnement normal d'un SYSTEM-80, 80A ou 80B.

Le mode diagnostic permet de détecter les défauts dans les circuits U4, U5, U6 (RIOT) ou Z5 (RAM 5101) sans avoir besoin de les démonter. Il permet également de vérifier rapidement les défauts d'horloge, de reset ou encore d'IRQ (interruptions). Le fonctionnement du SLAM TILT et du bouton TEST/PLAY sont également contrôlés, enfin, les sorties du connecteur A1J4 (pilotage de la carte driver) sont visualisables.

Afin que NeoDIAG-80 reste simple à utiliser, aucun test de la matrice des contacts (à l'exception de la vérification du bouton TEST/PLAY), des DIP de configuration ou des afficheurs n'est intégré dans ce mode.

Les trois autres modes permettent de faire fonctionner la carte CPU avec un programme "standard" correspondant à un flipper "basique" pour l'un des trois systèmes (80, 80A et 80B). Il est alors possible d'activer le mode test d'origine, via le bouton TEST/REPLAY afin de contrôler le reste de la carte (sous réserve de raccorder les éléments externes, tels que, matrice de contacts, afficheurs, etc...).

Documentation

Celle-ci se compose d'un "manuel utilisateur" décrivant le fonctionnement détaillé et les procédures de mise en oeuvre du produit.

Télécharger la documentation:
Documentation

Distribution

Cette réalisation est disponible dans notre boutique.

Boutique

NEODIAG-80 est par son fonctionnement, très similaire à "l'historique" quickscan-80 (parfois également appelé QS80) de Great Plain Electronics (GPE). Cependant, la ressemblance s'arrête là. NEODIAG-80 utilise son propre logiciel développé par FLIPPROJETS, lequel est fort différent de celui utilisé par le QS-80. En outre, la nouvelle conception hardware du NEODIAG-80 en fait plus un successeur évolué, qu'un simple clone du quick-scan. Afin d'éviter toute ambiguité, nous avons également nommé notre produit NEODIAG-80, ce qui est fortement éloigné de la dénomination QUICKSCAN. Il est tout a fait normal de trouver de fortes similitudes entre ces deux produits, puisque leur finalité est identique : le dépannage des cartes CPU Gottlieb SYSTEM-80. Le quickscan n'étant plus produit depuis 2004, il était temps 15 ans après, de sortir une carte de remplacement pouvant rendre les mêmes service.

Dernière mise à jour de cette page: 11 Décembre 2019

French Tech

DDS

Copyright © 2021 Flipprojets - François & Thierry DAVROUX

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l'utilisation de cookies servant principalement à mesurer la fréquentation de nos pages, ou à conserver vos informations de session.

Ces données sont utilisées uniquement à des fins techniques et ne servent en aucun cas à vous proposer des publicités, ni pour faire du démarchage ciblé, ou encore du SPAM. Elles ne seront pas échangées avec des services tiers et ne seront pas utilisées en dehors de ce site.

FLIPPROJETS s'engage à respecter votre vie privée, cliquer sur OK si vous avez compris et acceptez ces conditions, le cas échant ne poursuivez pas votre navigation et quittez ce site. OK